Geography of Delhi

Delhi is a situated in the northern part of India. It is the capital of the Union of India. Previously Delhi was a union territory, but few years back it gained the status of a state. Every alley and street of Delhi has a long history. Its establishment dates back to Indraprasta, which was the renowned capital city of the Pandav kings. Till today seven different cities of Delhi have been discovered by the archeologists. In the year 736 C.E., the city of Lal Kot, was set up at the location of the present Delhi. Delhi had been the capital city of some of the greatest rulers of India, such as the Pritviraj Chauhan, Delhi Sultanates, the Mughals, and the British Raj.

The location of Delhi is exactly on the intersection of 77.12� E longitude and 28.38� N latitude (Interactive map of Delhi). It is one of the most important places in India. It is the present seat of power for the government.

The territory of Delhi is stretched over an area of 1483 square kilometers. It is located between the mountain ranges of the Great Himalayas and Aravallis. The area of Delhi is surrounded on three sides by the state of Haryana, with the state of Uttar Pradesh on remaining side. The river Yamuna, run by the eastern part of the Delhi. Its length is about 33 miles, while the breadth is 30 miles, making it the second largest metropolis of the Union of India. It lies around 200 to 300 meters above the sea level.

The topography of Delhi can be divided into three different parts, the plains, the Yamuna flood plain, and the ridge. As per the topography, Delhi is located on the western fringes of the Gangetic Plains. The low altitude Yamuna flood plains provides an excellent scope of agriculture, as it is covered with the fertile alluvium brought by the river Yamuna and deposited here during the frequent floods. The other topographical feature is the Ridge, which reaches the height of 1043 ft above sea level, and is the highest point in Delhi. The ridge originates in the south and surrounds its western, the northwestern and northeastern part. It is a part of the Aravalli Hills. There are three canals crossing it, namely the Yamuna Canal, the Agra Canal, and the Hindou Canal.

The climate of Delhi is one of the most varied. Delhi experiences the extremes of weather. This is because of the geological location of Delhi. The climatic conditions of Delhi are similar to that of the temperate grasslands with hot, dry summers, and cold winters. The summers in Delhi start from the month of April and continue till the month of July. It is very hot and dry in the summer months, with temperature soaring up to 45o C. The rainy season provides relief from searing heat, which is frequented by Norwesters. It continues till the month of October. The humidity levels very high in Delhi at this time of the year. The winter months are characterized by dip in the temperature levels often reaching 5o C to 0o C. The months of October, November, February and March have pleasant weather and ideal for tourism.




India - Andhra Pradesh - Arunachal Pradesh - Assam - Bihar - Chhattisgarh - Goa - Gujarat - Haryana - Himachal Pradesh - Jammu Kashmir - Jharkhand - Karnataka - Kerala - Madhya Pradesh - Maharashtra - Manipur - Meghalaya - Mizoram - Nagaland - New Delhi - Odisha - Puducherry - Punjab - Rajasthan - Sikkim - Tamil Nadu - Tripura - Uttarakhand - Uttar Pradesh - West Bengal - India Search Engines - Official India map Contact Editor