Left side decoration


right side decoration
About Meghalaya
Geographical Profile
Historical View
Tourist Attractions
Meghalaya Blog
Meghalaya map
Links of Importance
left side decoration   right side decoration







About Meghalaya

History of Meghalaya

Geography of Meghalaya

Government of Meghalaya

Tourist Attractions of Meghalaya 

The word �Meghalaya� means �Abode of Clouds�. Being tucked away in the hills of eastern sub-Himalayas, Meghalaya is one of the most beautiful states of India. Nature has blessed her with abundant rainfall, sun-shine, virgin forests, high plateaus, tumbling waterfalls, crystal clear rivers, meandering streamlets and above all with sturdy, intelligent and hospitable people. Situated in the north-eastern region of India, between the Brahmaputra valley in the north and the Bangladesh in the south, Meghalaya was declared as a state of the Indian Union on January 21, 1972. It is one of the seven sister states of the North Eastern region and also one of the wettest places on earth. It spans an area of 22,429 km� and the population is over 22,429 km�.  (Map of Meghalaya)

The State Capital is Shillong. Meghalaya is a majestic land full with natures own creations- pure and fresh mountain air, whispering pines, gurgling streams that turn into a waterfall, extensive flora and fauna, limpid lakes, rivers, unpolluted rushing streams breaking into waterfalls, twisting and turning, disappearing into the jungle.



India - Andhra Pradesh - Arunachal Pradesh - Assam - Bihar - Chhattisgarh - Goa - Gujarat - Haryana - Himachal Pradesh - Jammu Kashmir - Jharkhand - Karnataka - Kerala - Madhya Pradesh - Maharashtra - Manipur - Meghalaya - Mizoram - Nagaland - New Delhi - Odisha - Puducherry - Punjab - Rajasthan - Sikkim - Tamil Nadu - Tripura - Uttarakhand - Uttar Pradesh - West Bengal - Indian Search Engines - Official India map

  MaharashtraWeb.com. Contact Editor