Jammu and Kashmir 

Jammu and Kashmir is situated in the north of India surrounded by the Himalayan Mountains. The state is the sixth biggest state of the country. The state is divided in three major divisions as: Jammu, Kashmir region and Ladakh. Srinagar forms the summer capital and Jammu its winter capital.

Jammu & Kashmir is well-known for its landscape beauty accentuated by the mountains surrounding the state. The entire state is mountainous broken by stretches of valleys and dotted with mountain lakes. Known as the crown of India, the state is studded with numerous hill stations that are refreshingly cool during the summers. They offer to tourists a leisurely or adventurous holiday amidst breadth-taking sceneries. It is like paradise on earth for all nature lovers because the state is rich in flora as well as fauna and has also been known as one since time immemorial.

 Though the lifestyle of people in this state is very simple, festivals here are celebrated with great pomp and show and every event is a treat for the eye. Jammu and Kashmir boasts a rich heritage of culture, filled with color and grandeur.




India - Andhra Pradesh - Arunachal Pradesh - Assam - Bihar - Chhattisgarh - Goa - Gujarat - Haryana - Himachal Pradesh - Jammu Kashmir - Jharkhand - Karnataka - Kerala - Madhya Pradesh - Maharashtra - Manipur - Meghalaya - Mizoram - Nagaland - New Delhi - Odisha - Puducherry - Punjab - Rajasthan - Sikkim - Tamil Nadu - Tripura - Uttarakhand - Uttar Pradesh - West Bengal - Indian Search Engines - Official India map

MaharashtraWeb.com. Contact Editor