About Assam

History of Assam
Geography of Assam
Government of Assam
Tourist attractions of Assam



Well known as “Pragjyotishpura” in Mahabharata and “Kamapura” in Medieval times, Assam has a rich green land of rolling plains and dense forests. It is the gateway to the north eastern part of India. It is surrounded by the other northeastern states: Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura and Meghalaya. Assam along with these 6 states, together called the “seven sisters”. These states are connected to the rest of India via Assam's border with West Bengal and a narrow strip called the "Chicken's Neck." Assam also shares international borders with Bhutan and Bangladesh. It spans around 78,438 km˛ and population over 26,638,407. The mighty Brahmaputra River that has its origins in Tibet follows its majestic course through this state. The capital is Dispur and the State’s official languages are Assamese and Bodo.



India - Andhra Pradesh - Arunachal Pradesh - Assam - Bihar - Chhattisgarh - Goa - Gujarat - Haryana - Himachal Pradesh - Jammu Kashmir - Jharkhand - Karnataka - Kerala - Madhya Pradesh - Maharashtra - Manipur - Meghalaya - Mizoram - Nagaland - New Delhi - Odisha - Puducherry - Punjab - Rajasthan - Sikkim - Tamil Nadu - Tripura - Uttarakhand - Uttar Pradesh - West Bengal - Indian Search Engines - Official India map