The Legislative Council : (Vidhan Parishad) 

The Upper House consists of selectively elected members. The composition of the House is as follows: 

(i) Some members elected by local authority; 

(ii) Some elected by special rules in order to pick up specific skill sets; 

(iii) Some elected by legislative Assembly;

(iv) the remaining nominated by the Governor from amongst persons with special knowledge or practical experience in literature, art, science, social service, etc. 

It is a perpetual house and not subject to dissolution. The term of office of a member is six years; but one third of its members retire every two years. 




India - Andhra Pradesh - Arunachal Pradesh - Assam - Bihar - Chhattisgarh - Goa - Gujarat - Haryana - Himachal Pradesh - Jammu Kashmir - Jharkhand - Karnataka - Kerala - Madhya Pradesh - Maharashtra - Manipur - Meghalaya - Mizoram - Nagaland - New Delhi - Orissa - Pondicherry - Punjab - Rajasthan - Sikkim - Tamil Nadu - Tripura - Uttarakhand - Uttar Pradesh - West Bengal - Indian Search Engines - India maps - India map

Mweb LLC